Past, Present, and Future

Past

I was raised in Southern California and the Central Coast of California by immigrated Mexican parents. They instilled a strong focus on education, perseverance, and solidarity.

I received a strong science and math background in high school with the honors and Advanced Placement courses. In college, I majored in Kinesiology, with a concentration in pre-physical therapy, and a minor in Spanish from California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo. Durning my junior year of college, I studied in Granada, Spain. After graduation, I traveled to Costa Rica, Peru, and Mexico.

As an adolescent, I played all sports available and loved being physically active. In high school, I played competitive softball and basketball, both of which I continued playing recreationally in college. During my college career, I was introduced to yoga by friends and roommates. Since then, yoga has guided me to a more peaceful path, not only physically, but mentally and emotionally.

Present

Currently, I am undertaking the Naturopathic Medicine program at National College of Natural Medicine and enjoying the Pacific Northwest.

Future

I plan to complete the ND program by 2016. During this time, I strive to learn as much as I can from the curriculum here at NCNM and from the doctors and healers with whom I will observe and from whom I will learn. As a student, I plan to intern in Latin America so that when I become a naturopathic doctor I may incorporate either working or volunteering in rural communities throughout Latin America along with my home practice, wherever that may be located.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: